Tales From the Spheres Beyond Sound

Like any eclectic catalog of dark music, this volume of stories explores many levels of emotion, each writer composing his own unique movement to the symphony. Here, you will find a wide range of voices, some spinning tales of pure, deep dread, much as might be found in the most successful works of HPL himself. Others venture into territory that the Old Gent would never have imagined, or wanted to imagine... There's even a touch of whimsy to be found, yet always mingled with the strain of darkness like that faced by Erich Zann in his garret in the rue d'Auseil.

Song of Cthulhu is a collection of 19 stories of otherworldly terror, born in the abyss conjured by Erich Zann's violin in the rue d'Ausseil. Featuring such influential authors as H. P. Lovecraft, Ramsey Campbell, Hugh B. Cave, Fred Chappell, Thomas F. Monteleone, and many others, Song of Cthulhu explores the unknown spheres beyond sound, its pulsating rhythm punctuated by moments of dark beauty, breathtaking suspense, and nerve-shattering horror. Put on some atmospheric music, dim the lights, and settle in with this literary symphony whose notes rise from the hidden depths of R'lyeh itself.

Song of Cthulhu
Edited by Stephen Mark Rainey
Publisher: Chaosium
Format: Trade paperback, 200 pages

Retail Price: $13.95
ISBN-10: 1-56882-117-4
ISBN-13: 978-1-56882-117-7
Release Date: July 2001

Purchase from Amazon.com


H. P. Lovecraft
"The Music of Erich Zann"

Caitlin R. Kiernan

Thomas Ligotti
"The Dark Beauty of Unheard Horrors"

Hugh B. Cave

Fred Chappell
"In the Rue d'Auseil"

Robert Weinberg

Ramsey Campbell
"The Plain of Sound"

Robert M. Price
"Ghoul's Tale"

Stephen Mark Rainey
"The Last Show at Verdi's Supper Club"

Rob Suggs
"The Next Big Thing"

Tom Piccirilli
"Water Music for the Tillers of Soil"

Edward P. Berglund
"The Flautists"

M. Christian
"Shallow Fathoms"

D. F. Lewis
"Fall From Grace"

Gregory Nicoll
"How Nyarlathotep Rocked Our World"

William R. Trotter

James Robert Smith

E. A. Lustig
"The Enchanting of Lila Woods"

Brian McNaughton

Thomas F. Monteleone
"Yog-Sothoth, Superstar"

Stephen Mark Rainey is author of the novels Dark Shadows: Dreams of the Dark (with Elizabeth Massie), Balak, The Lebo Coven, Blue Devil Island, and The Nightmare Frontier; the short story collections Fugue Devil & Other Weird Horrors, The Last Trumpet, Legends of the Night, and Other Gods; and over 100 works of short fiction. He achieved questionable infamy and absolutely no fortune as editor of Deathrealm magazine, and has edited the anthologies Deathrealms, Song of Cthulhu, and Evermore (with James Robert Smith).

Return to Main